Autism, Art and Focus.

June 10, 2016 § 2 Comments

Photo on 10-06-2016 at 11.53

This is me in my double sized studio. I look tired but I’m happy. This week I took on more space for a few months, so that I can more easily complete an Arts Council funded project.

Today I spent 11 hours working in the space without noticing.

The project is absorbing and challenging. I think about it as I go to sleep – often resolving painting problems in my minds eye. I come up with potential solutions and new ideas. I wake before dawn, keen to get on.

This is how it is when inspiration strikes and autistic focus comes in to play.

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Autism, Art and Focus.

  • hannahkenway says:

    I can relate to this absolutely. Do you feel frustration when anything threatens to interrupt your purpose? When domesticity invades my focus I find it very difficult to accept and also seem to require long periods of open time in order to really get into the zone in most areas of life, particularly the creative arts. Even knowing a visitor is going to appear hours in the future is enough to provide a distraction.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Autism, Art and Focus. at The other side.

meta

